≡ Menü,,en,Klicken Sie, um nach Hause zurückzukehren,,en,Email,,en,Kommentar,,en,Fataler Fehler,,en,Aufruf zu undefinierter Funktion vertical_menu,,en,home / content / 56/7806356 / html / wp-inhalt / plugins / exec-php / includes / runtime.php,,en,Eval,,en,Code,,en,online,,en

Lyme-Borreliose durch nicht gemeldete Zwei Drittel der Ärzte BC

western blacklegged tick ixodes pacificus tick test

Der westliche blacklegged Tick, in BC grasbewachsenen und bewaldeten Gebieten,en.

Nach bald nach der Veröffentlichung einer Studie zu finden woeful Untererfassung der Lyme-Borreliose in Maryland Eine andere Studie hat herausgefunden, dass viele Ärzte in der kanadischen Provinz British Columbia Vernachlässigung Borreliose Fälle zu melden.

Bis vor kurzem, Lyme-Borreliose wurde als nicht existent von den meisten Ärzten und medizinischen Behörden in British Columbia abgewiesen,, vielleicht, ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass ein aktueller Bericht festgestellt, dass fast zwei Drittel der Ärzte in BC gestand nicht die Berichterstattung über die letzten Fall der Lyme-Borreliose sie behandelt, mit vielen sagen, dass sie einfach vergessen, oder dass ihre Patientin war von außerhalb der Stadt oder wurde nicht auf ihre Praxis registriert. Warum Untererfassung der Lyme-Borreliose in BC Materie, und was kann dagegen getan werden?

3% der Ärzte Patienten zu behandeln Lyme-Disease sie nicht haben

Der BC Centre for Disease Control die Studie durchgeführt, die die zurückgegebenen Berichte analysiert 111 Ärzte in der Pacific Northwest Provinz gefragt, ob sie glaubten, dass der letzte Patient sie für Lyme-Borreliose behandelt hatte tatsächlich die Krankheit. 14% waren sich sicher, dass ihre Patienten Borreliose hatten, 59% sagte sie wohl getan, 24% sagte wahrscheinlich nicht, und 3% sagte definitiv nicht. 77 Ärzte beantwortete eine Frage zu fragen, ob sie die Krankheit gemeldet und 61% sagten, dass sie nicht, mit negativen Lyme-Borreliose-Test Ergebnisse, verfügbar Testergebnisse, niedrige Krankheitsaktivität Wahrscheinlichkeit, oder unzureichende Beweise die am häufigsten genannten Gründe für unter-Berichterstattung. Es gab einige Fälle, wie berichtet wurden chronischen Lyme-Borreliose dass bereits für den offiziellen Zahlen vorgelegt.

Zecken in BC

Die westlichen schwarzen Beinen Zecken kann in vielen Bereichen der British Columbia gefunden werden, Besonders in den grasbewachsenen und bewaldeten Regionen und der Popularität von Outdoor-Aktivitäten in der Pacific Northwest Provinz macht viele BC Bewohner und Besucher Borreliose-Erkrankung. Lyme-Borreliose Symptome kann als eine grippeähnliche Erkrankung entlassen werden, Müdigkeit nach einem Campingplatz oder Wanderung, oder auch als Arthritis. Unbehandelt jedoch, Lyme-Borreliose kann zu erheblichen Gewebeschäden führen, progressive Symptome, und kann sogar in Fällen fatal, wo Herzprobleme auftreten oder die Infektion breitet sich das zentrale Nervensystem.

ticks in bc lyme disease cases unreported

Orte in British Columbia, wo mindestens eine Lyme-Borreliose Zecke gemeldet wurde.

Lyme-Borreliose Fälle Double in BC Zwischen 2010 und 2011

Lyme-Borreliose nicht gemeldet meiste Zeit scheint, mit nur 20 Fällen in ganz BC in gemeldet 2011, und nur sieben und zehn 2010 und 2009 beziehungsweise. Die Zahlen können doppelt so viele Fälle von Lyme-Borreliose in BC zeigen in 2011 im Vergleich zu 2010 aber die Zahlen sind immer noch sehr niedrig und viele betrachten sie nur einen Bruchteil der tatsächlichen Zahl der Lyme-Borreliose Fälle, in BC werden. Diese neueste Studie folgen auf einen Bericht in 2008 die ergab, dass wussten fast zwei Drittel der Ärzte Lyme Krankheit war eine meldepflichtige Infektion, sondern dass viele immer noch nicht um es zu melden. Diese Studie ergab, dass die Ärzte daran erinnert befragten Diagnose 221 Fälle von Lyme-Krankheit, sondern der Beamte des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens erhielt nur dreizehn Berichte, trotz Vorschriften besagt, dass die Ärzte sollen in einem Krankheitsüberwachung Formular ausfüllen und legt ihn dem BC CDC. Lyme-Borreliose Fälle, in Alberta werden voraussichtlich auch zum steigen 2012 so nass und warmes Wetter reicht die Zecke Lebenszyklus und Chancen für die Übertragung der Lyme-Borreliose Bakterien.

Recruiting Lyme-Borreliose-Monitore

Leider, die Untererfassung der Lyme-Borreliose in BC ist nicht der einzige Fall von unter-Meldung von ansteckenden und übertragbaren Krankheiten, nach Dr. Perry Kendall, Provincial Health Officer. Fast 60 meldepflichtige Krankheiten gibt es in den aktuellen Leitlinien und Kendall legt nahe, dass es vielleicht an der Zeit sein, bestimmte Ärzte zu rekrutieren, um Monitor-Borreliose helfen, ebenso gibt es ähnliche Fachkräfte Tracking Fälle von Influenza in der Provinz.


Lyme-Borreliose Behandlung von Under-Reporting Betroffene

Lyme-Borreliose Befürworter in BC haben bestätigt, dass diese schlechte Bilanz der Berichterstattung Borreliose bedeutet, dass die relative Seltenheit der Lyme-Borreliose in BC ein Mythos viel unter der Gesundheitsberufe und der Öffentlichkeit aufrechterhalten wird. Dies führt die Menschen nicht einmal in Erwägung Lyme-Borreliose als Erklärung für ihre Symptome, und vernachlässigen Borreliose Vorsichtsmaßnahmen. Patienten können auch vorsichtig sein, zu sehen, ihren Arzt, wie sie über ernst genommen Sorgen, und Ärzte sind weniger wahrscheinlich, dass eine Differentialdiagnose der Lyme-Borreliose, die bei der Beurteilung eines Patienten mit Gelenkschmerzen, Fieber, Magen-Darm-Störungen, und sogar kognitive Symptome. Ein ähnliches Phänomen wird derzeit von herausgefordert Proteste in Australien, Aufruf zur offiziellen Anerkennung der Lyme-Borreliose.

Lyme-Borreliose-Infektion Außerhalb BC

Lyme-Borreliose ist in British Columbia berichtspflichtigen seit 1994 und die Verdoppelung der gemeldeten Borreliose Fällen zwischen 2010 und 2011 hat in einigen Vorschlägen Fortschritte erzielt worden. Es kann sein, dass viele Fälle von Lyme-Borreliose in BC nicht behandelt sind tatsächlich zuzurechnen beißt in BC selbst aber erhielt ticken, da gab es eine Reihe von Fällen im Zusammenhang mit Reisen. Ärzte können nicht bereit sein, oder gar nicht in der Lage zu Zeit zu berichten, Lyme-Borreliose, besonders wenn der Patient scheint nicht in BC infiziert worden. Es scheint, dass, wenn Patienten mit Lyme-Borreliose diagnostiziert, dass sie angemessen mit Antibiotika behandelt werden, aber ein Bericht im letzten Jahr festgestellt, dass viele Ärzte skeptisch über die Existenz der chronischen Lyme-Borreliose und die Lyme-Borreliose-Tests bleiben weiterhin unzureichend zur Diagnose der Krankheit.

New Lyme Disease Clinic in BC öffnen

Patienten und Lyme-Borreliose Befürworter in BC wurden durch den Bericht bestätigt und begrüßte die Zulassung von $ 2 Millionen in die Finanzierung für ein neues chronische und komplexe Krankheiten Klinik in Vancouver in British Columbia Frauenklinik. Die neue Klinik dauern würde, Fälle, in denen Bakterien, Virus-, oder Pilzinfektionen werden von verursacht eine komplizierte Krankheit vermutet. Leider, Eröffnung der Klinik hat sich verzögert, während entsprechende Personal eingestellt werden. Mittlerweile, Fälle von Lyme-Borreliose wird wahrscheinlich weiterhin zu niedrig angesetzt sind, aber zumindest dieser Umfrage geht hervor, Hoffnung für die Zukunft, mit zunehmender Anerkennung der Lyme-Borreliose in British Columbia.

{ 1 Kommentar… fügen Sie ein }
  • Dr.. Hedda Lersey Januar 12, 2019, 8:56 am

    I am all too woefully aware of this problem. My father was actually one of the first BC physicians to report Lyme disease in the 1970,s up in Kitimat, BC. A few years back I personally had a terrifying experience with ticks in the Okanagan. I went to visit a beautiful waterfall off of Westside Road with friends. Being aware of the disease, I tried to stay away from the grasses, usw., and stuck stead-fastedly to the grassless path. Later that night at home, I began running my fingers through my hair and felt a bump. Quizically, I explored this bump and realized that it was not stuck to my head. I removed the bump from my scalp and looked at it. In my horror, I found it to be a tick! It would have begun to bury itself into my scalp over night. I threw it into the sink and tried to squish its very hard exoskeleton. I finally stomped on it, went to bed and thanked the ‘anti-tick Gods’, ha ha. Not so funny actually. If you encounter a doctor that won’t listen, SHOW HIM/HER THIS ARTICLE!!! Stay safe from these little horrors my friends and cover up when in nature. We have to respect her awesome power.

Leave a Comment

Compare levitra Herbal levitra equivalent Canada generic levitra cheap Generac for viagra Wholesale generic levitra Levitra generic price Generic levitra vs brand name levitra Generic viagra price comparison Where can i buy real viagra Generic levitra canada Order cialis usa Viagra vs cilias Viagra soft tabs Name brand cialis Get levitra Levitra canadian pharmacy support Viagra sales 2009 Levitra and daibetes Levitra brand no prescription Levitra street price Purchase viagra no rx Levitra tablets sale Buy viagra germany canadian meds Levitra drug Viagra generic uk Levitra overdose symptoms Frauen levitra Over counter substitutes levitra Generic levitra overnigh No prescription levitra pills

Lyme Disease Unreported by Two-Thirds of BC Doctors

by lmatthews on May 12, 2012

western blacklegged tick ixodes pacificus tick test

The western blacklegged tick, found in BC's grassy and wooded areas.

Following soon after the publication of a study finding woeful under-reporting of Lyme disease in Maryland another study has found that many doctors in the Canadian province of British Columbia neglect to report Lyme disease cases.

Up until recently, Lyme disease was dismissed as non-existent by most physicians and medical authorities in British Columbia so, perhaps, it is not that surprising that a recent report found that almost two-thirds of doctors in BC admitted not reporting the last case of Lyme disease they treated, with many saying they simply forgot, or that their patient was from out of town or was not registered at their practice. Why does under-reporting of Lyme disease in BC matter, and what can be done about it?

3% of Doctors Treat Patients for Lyme Disease They Don’t Have

The BC Centre for Disease Control conducted the study which analyzed the returned reports from 111 doctors in the Pacific Northwest province asked if they believed that the last patient they treated for Lyme disease actually had the illness. 14% were sure that their patient had Lyme disease, 59% said they probably did, 24% said probably not, and 3% said definitely not. 77 doctors answered a question asking if they reported the disease and 61% said they did not, with negative Lyme disease test results, unavailable test results, low disease likelihood, or insufficient evidence the most commonly cited reasons for under-reporting. There were some cases that were reported as chronic Lyme disease that had already been submitted for the official figures.

Ticks in BC

The western black-legged tick can be found in many areas of British Columbia, particularly in grassy and wooded regions and the popularity of outdoor pursuits in the Pacific Northwest province exposes many BC residents and visitors to Lyme disease infection. Lyme disease symptoms may be dismissed as a flu-like illness, fatigue after a camping or hiking trip, or even as arthritis. Left untreated however, Lyme disease can result in significant tissue damage, progressive symptoms, and may even be fatal in cases where heart problems arise or the infection spreads to the central nervous system.

ticks in bc lyme disease cases unreported

Places in British Columbia where at least one Lyme disease tick has been reported.

Lyme Disease Cases Double in BC Between 2010 and 2011

Lyme disease goes unreported most of the time it seems, with only twenty cases reported in the whole of BC in 2011, and just seven and ten in 2010 and 2009 respectively. The figures may show twice as many cases of Lyme disease in BC in 2011 compared to 2010 but the figures are still very low and many consider them to be just a fraction of the real number of Lyme disease cases in BC. This latest survey follow on from a report in 2008 which found that nearly two thirds of doctors knew Lyme disease was a reportable infection but that many still failed to report it. This study found that the doctors surveyed remembered diagnosing 221 cases of Lyme disease but the public health officials only received thirteen reports, despite regulations stating that doctors are supposed to fill in a disease surveillance form and submit it to the BC CDC. Lyme disease cases in Alberta are also expected to rise for 2012 as wet and warm weather extends the tick lifecycle and opportunities for transmission of Lyme disease bacteria.

Recruiting Lyme Disease Monitors

Unfortunately, the under-reporting of Lyme disease in BC is not the only case of under-reporting of infectious and communicable diseases, according to Dr Perry Kendall, provincial health officer. Nearly sixty reportable diseases exist in the current guidelines and Kendall suggests that it may be time to recruit certain physicians to help monitor Lyme disease, just as there are similar professionals tracking cases of influenza in the province.


Lyme Disease Treatment Affected by Under-Reporting

Lyme disease advocates in BC have acknowledged that this poor record of reporting Lyme disease means that the relative rarity of Lyme disease in BC is a myth much perpetuated amongst health professionals and the general public. This leads people to not even consider Lyme disease as an explanation of their symptoms, and to neglect to take Lyme disease precautions. Patients may also be wary of seeing their physician as they worry about being taken seriously, and doctors are less likely to consider a differential diagnosis of Lyme disease when assessing a patient with joint pain, fever, gastrointestinal disturbances, and even cognitive symptom. A similar phenomenon is currently being challenged by protests in Australia, calling for official recognition of Lyme disease.

Lyme Disease Infection Outside BC

Lyme disease has been reportable in British Columbia since 1994 and the doubling of reported Lyme disease cases between 2010 and 2011 has some suggesting progress has been made. It may be that many cases of Lyme disease treated in BC are not actually attributable to tick bites received in BC itself however, as there were a number of travel-related cases. Doctors may be unwilling, or even unable to make time to report Lyme disease, particularly when the patient does not appear to have been infected in BC. It does appear that when patients are diagnosed with Lyme disease that they are treated appropriately with antibiotics but a report last year found that many physicians remain sceptical about the existence of chronic Lyme disease and that Lyme disease tests remain inadequate for diagnosing the illness.

New Lyme Disease Clinic to Open in BC

Patients and Lyme disease advocates in BC were vindicated by the report and welcomed the approval of $2million in funding for a new chronic and complex disease clinic in Vancouver at BC’s Women’s Hospital. The new clinic would take cases where bacterial, viral, or fungal infections are suspected of causing a complicated illness. Unfortunately, the clinic’s opening has been delayed while appropriate staff are hired. Meanwhile, cases of Lyme disease will likely continue to be under-reported but at least this recent survey suggests hope for the future, with increasing recognition of Lyme disease in British Columbia.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: