≡ Menü,,en,Klicken Sie, um nach Hause zurückzukehren,,en,Email,,en,Kommentar,,en,Fataler Fehler,,en,Aufruf zu undefinierter Funktion vertical_menu,,en,home / content / 56/7806356 / html / wp-inhalt / plugins / exec-php / includes / runtime.php,,en,Eval,,en,Code,,en,online,,en

Novel Lyme Disease Drug Research Given $125,000 in Funding

borrelia burgdorferi lyme disease spirochaete colony

Forscher in Texas untersuchen neue Wege der Lyme-Borreliose Bakterien zu töten.

Forscher des Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) und der University of Texas, San Antonia (nichts) ein erfolgreiches Gebot feiert für saubere Emissionstechnologien Finanzierung in und Lyme-Borreliose-Targeting neue antimikrobielle Wirkstoffe.

die Organisationen’ Herstellen von Verbindungen über Forschungspartnerschaften (“Verbinden”) Programm erteilt wurde, $125,000 für jedes Projekt sie durch bis August nächsten Jahres zu sehen, mit der Hoffnung führt, dass die Forschung in eine neue Art und Weise der Lyme-Krankheit zu bekämpfen.


SwRI ist eine unabhängige, gemeinnützig, angewandte Forschung und Entwicklung Organisation mit Sitz in San Antonio. Es gibt fast 3,000 Menschen bei SwRI beschäftigt und unter ihnen sind SwRI Principal Scientist Dr.. Gloria Gutierrez von der Chemie und Chemieingenieurabteilung und Associate Professor für bakterielle Pathogenität Janakiram Seshu in der UTSA Institut für Biologie. Dr.. Seshu ist auch ein Mitglied der South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases Center of Excellence in Infektionsgenomik.

Mevalonatweg zur Bekämpfung der Lyme-Borreliose

Diese Forscher führen ein Team von Wissenschaftlern in die antibakterielle Wirkung von neuen Wirkstoffen suchen, die die Aktivität von Borrelia burgdorferi hemmen könnten, das bakterielle Mittel, die die Lyme-Krankheit verursacht. Sie suchen speziell auf dem Mevalonatweg, die für das Wachstum und Überleben der Bakterien beteiligt ist, und es ist zu hoffen, dass der Erfolg in diesem Bereich auch Medikamente entwickeln helfen, die multi-drug-resistente Stämme von anderen Bakterien steuern.


Mit über 300,000 neue Fälle von Lyme-Krankheit jedes Jahr in den USA und keinen Impfstoff derzeit diese Forschung ist rechtzeitige und, vor allem zur Refinanzierung, wirtschaftlich rentabel. Sollten die Wissenschaftler erfolgreich einen neuen Weg bei der Suche nach der Aktivität der Lyme-Borreliose Bakterien die antimikrobielle beeinträchtigen(s) verwendet werden könnte, um deutlich die Anwesenheit der Bakterien in Tierpopulationen zu reduzieren, Zeckenpopulationen und, deshalb, reduzieren das Risiko für den Menschen.

{ 0 Kommentare… fügen Sie ein }

Leave a Comment

Compare levitra Herbal levitra equivalent Canada generic levitra cheap Generac for viagra Wholesale generic levitra Levitra generic price Generic levitra vs brand name levitra Generic viagra price comparison Where can i buy real viagra Generic levitra canada Order cialis usa Viagra vs cilias Viagra soft tabs Name brand cialis Get levitra Levitra canadian pharmacy support Viagra sales 2009 Levitra and daibetes Levitra brand no prescription Levitra street price Purchase viagra no rx Levitra tablets sale Buy viagra germany canadian meds Levitra drug Viagra generic uk Levitra overdose symptoms Frauen levitra Over counter substitutes levitra Generic levitra overnigh No prescription levitra pills

Novel Lyme Disease Drug Research Given $125,000 in Funding

by lmatthews on July 5, 2014

borrelia burgdorferi lyme disease spirochaete colony

Researchers in Texas are investigating novel ways of killing Lyme disease bacteria.

Researchers at the Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) and University of Texas, San Antonia (UTSA) are celebrating a successful bid for funding into clean emission technologies and novel antimicrobials targeting Lyme disease.

The organizations’ Connecting through Research Partnerships (“Connect”) program has been granted $125,000 for each project to see them through until August next year, with the hope that research will result in a new way to tackle Lyme disease.


SwRI is an independent, nonprofit, applied research and development organization based in San Antonio. There are almost 3,000 people employed at SwRI and amongst them are SwRI Principal Scientist Dr. Gloria Gutierrez of the Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Division and Associate Professor of Bacterial Pathogenesis Janakiram Seshu in the UTSA Department of Biology. Dr. Seshu is also a member of the South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases Center of Excellence in Infection Genomics.

Mevalonate Pathway to Combat Lyme Disease

These researchers are leading a team of scientists looking into the antibacterial effects of novel agents that could inhibit the activity of Borrelia burgdorferi, the bacterial agent that causes Lyme disease. They are looking specifically at the mevalonate pathway that is involved in the growth and survival of the bacteria and it is hoped that success in this area will also help develop drugs that can control multi-drug resistant strains of other bacteria.


With over 300,000 new cases of Lyme disease each year in the US and no vaccine currently available this research is timely and, importantly for funding purposes, commercially viable. Should the scientists succeed in finding a new way to impair the activity of the Lyme disease bacteria the antimicrobial(s) could be used to significantly reduce the presence of the bacteria in animal populations, tick populations and, therefore, reduce the risk to humans.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: